The Maharaja’s Express

Maharaja's Express: EL Dorado On Wheels



The year was 2012 and I still remember the first time I saw this amazing looking train in New Delhi running parallel to that of mine. I experienced a sudden jolt of enthusiasm and curiosity and i wanted to know everything about this lavish looking train. I went up to the window of the train on which i was boarded and started starring at the train with passion and I discovered that this magnificent looking palace on the wheels was called 'The Maharaja Express'.  

The Maharajas' Express is a luxury tourist train owned and operated by Indian Railway Catering and Tourism Corporation. It runs on 5 circuits covering more than 12 destinations across North-West and Central India, mainly centered on Rajasthan between the months of October and April.
The Maharajas' Express was voted "The World's Leading Luxury Train" five times in a row at The World Travel Awards in 2012, 2013, 2014,2015 and 2016. It is the most expensive luxury train in the World. Maharajas' Express also received the first runner up award in the Specialist Train Operators Category at Conde Nast Travelers Reader Choice Travel Award in 2011.

The Train is lavish so is the price that one has to pay in order to board the train. The price of the ticket is between Rs. 2,50,000 and Rs. 15,00000 based on the Itinerary that one opts for. 


Here is a list of Itineraries 



1.Heritage of India
Duration: 7 Nights / 8 Days
Destinations Covered: Mumbai – Ajanta – Udaipur – Jodhpur – Bikaner – Jaipur – Ranthambore – Agra - Delhi

2.Treasures of India
Duration: 3 nights / 4 days
Destinations Covered: Delhi – Agra – Ranthambore – Jaipur – Delhi.

3.Gems of India
Duration: 3 Nights / 4 Days
Destinations Covered: Delhi – Agra – Ranthambore – Jaipur – Delhi

4.Indian Panorama
Duration: 9 Nights / 10 Days
Destinations Covered: Delhi – Jaipur – Ranthambore – Fatehpur Sikri – Agra – Gwalior – Orchha – Khajuraho – Varanasi – Lucknow – Delhi

5.The Indian Splendour
Duration: 7 Nights OR 8 Days
Destinations Covered: Delhi – Agra – Ranthambore – Jaipur – Bikaner – Jodhpur – Udaipur – Balasinor – Mumbai





Below are some of the videos which will give all of you a clear insight what I'm talking about.


 Video Courtesy: Maharaja's Express                                                                                                                                               





 Video Courtesy: History TV 18                                                                                                                                                  






Video Courtesy: Maharaja's Express                                                                                                                                                      



Please tell us in the comment section what do you think about this fabulous train. 

These kind of things are after-all testimonial to the fact that our India is Incredible. 




[yasr_visitor_votes size="medium"]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *